Skilled Points Test – new minimum 65 points

independent skilled work visas

General Skilled Migration – Increase to pool and pass marks

For visa applications lodged from 1 July 2018 in response to an invitation issued on or after this date, the pool and pass mark is now 65 points for the following visa subclasses:

  • Skilled Independent visa (Subclass 189) (Points tested) stream
  • Skilled Nominated visa (Subclass 190)
  • Skilled Regional (Provisional) visa (Subclass 489)

The Minister for Home Affairs, Peter Dutton said the changes would enhance the integrity of Australia’s skilled visa system and the quality of migrants coming to Australia.

“[W]here an Australian worker cannot be found, we need to ensure that businesses can get the skills they need to continue to grow and prosper. Raising the points test mark will help to ensure we get migrants with valued skills and strong prospects for integration.”

Transition provisions

For visa applications that are lodged in response to an invitation issued prior to 1 July, the pool and pass mark remains at 60 points.

How we can help

There is a wide range of points-tested, family-sponsored and state-sponsored skilled visa subclasses. We provide strategic advice to help you choose the right occupation in which to apply for skills assessment to maximise your points score and eligibility for independent and state-sponsored options. We have experience in all skilled migration subclasses and most skills assessing authorities. Please contact us for an eligibility assessment, or book a consultation.


Leave a Comment

four + five =